My Smartphone History – Into My Next Phone

Phones, phones, phones. They’re everywhere. They’re inescapable. It’s both a blessing and a curse. On the one hand, they’re awesome, but on the other, they’re expensive – for the most part.

Currently I am using the iPhone 6, which I’ve had since the its release last fall. It’s been a terrific phone, I have no complaints. I’ve primarily been an iOS user for the better part of three and a half years. And the question always comes up in my interactions with other tech nerds: why haven’t you try Android?

Well, there is both a long and a short answer.

Short answer is, I’ve been close to switching, but I’ve stayed where I’m most comfortable.

Long answer…let’s begin. When I switched over from the rock ages of smartphones to iOS, I was using a BlackBerry Torch. Pre-BlackBerry, I was rocking a Motorola Razr (that’s way back). Yes, it was a different time. The move to an iPhone was made easy by the sheer amount of friends who owned an iOS device. The switch just made sense and was seamless for me.

The iPhone I bought was a 4s and I still remember loving that phone. Coming from a BlackBerry, the performance was night and day better. The Retina display was a godsend and the build just screamed sophistication. It was as if I entered the modern age. The golden age of smartphones.

In that time, I slowly made a neat little home in the Apple ecosystem. As I enjoyed iMessage and every app imaginable, Google slowly built a powerful OS that has arguably surpassed the versatility of iOS. As a tech enthusiast, I was aware of the Android growth and the rapid advancements, but I was comfortable where I was and I had no reason to contemplate switching. In fact, I began to migrate some of my ecosystem to Google’s offering and I honestly enjoyed it more. Google likes to make things easier while Apple likes to force you into using their products.

As my 4s began to age, one area where iPhones fell sorely behind was screen size, and that was an area Android phones had long dominated. It went from a novelty to a necessity to have a 4.5-inch plus display on your phone. And sadly, my 3.5-inch iPhone 4s just couldn’t keep up anymore.

In mid 2014, I had made up my mind. I was going to switch over to the dark side and try Android. My device of choice: the HTC One M8. I was never a fan of TouchWiz, the Moto X was in its first generation and LG just never caught my attention. HTC had me hooked with the iPhone-like aluminum unibody design and stripped-down Sense skin on top of Android. My decision was made – or so I thought.

I found a great deal on Best Buy that was selling the phone for just $99, which fit nicely into my budget. But the thing I didn’t account for was the my indecision. As a grappled with the fact that I was making a big switch, I procrastinated buying the phone and surely and stupidly, I let the deal slip away. When I finally pushed aside my indecision, the phone was now up to $200 at its normal price. Keep in mind, this was before financing phones had truly been pushed by wireless companies. So, with the phone pushing by my budget, I went back to the drawing board.

One option opened for me was just to continue saving and go on with my original plan of buying the M8. Or I could wait one month and see what the next iPhone would bring to the table. This was obviously the smarter option. If Apple didn’t impress me, then I would go with the M8, and if they did, I would stay with team iPhone.

I stayed with team iPhone. iPhone 6, that is.

Over a year later, I’m ready to take that plunge into Android again.

Android truly has riches upon riches of phones. It’s a take-your-pick game. But there is one phone that has captivated me from its first introduction. And it comes from the Android line that has always had a special place in my heart from afar. The Nexus line.

Huawei’s Nexus 6P will almost assuredly be my first true experience with Android on a full day by day basis. Now I just have to buy the phone. Here I come Android.

Leave a Reply

